Reading journal: Not your Mother’s Make-ahead Freezer Cookbook

20130513-220714.jpg
Image via Amazon

I love to read but, lately, I find myself reading less fiction and more and more about practical topics that relate to my everyday duties. Therefore, I am reading a lot of cookbooks.

My preferences in this area have changed a lot, as well. I prefer healthier cookbooks now, seasonal cookbooks, and recipes that can be easy and nourishing.

I really enjoyed Jessica Fisher’s book because she “gets” being a homemaker and having to feed a lot of people and being rushed to do it. She does it all the time as a Mom! But she also gets that, along with nourishing, you want to make food that is tasty. Her recipes seem all of them delicious, and the ones I have made have turned out fantastic. She has recipes for every cooking category that you would need to feed a family, and she goes into detail about how to prep them, store them, cook and serve them.

Along with detail cooking day plans, she has shortcuts to make meal preparation easier, which are just as valuable as the plans. I have not set up a full cooking day yet, but I have used my favorite shortcut from her: store meal components ready to go. So, if I brown beef for a meal, I save half in a dated freezer bag, and there I have more beef to pull out for pasta, or a casserole, all ready to go.

Her book is full if this kind of shortcuts, clearly explained, along with a lot of encouragement to put it all into practice. I loved this book!

I give it Five Stars.

Leave a Reply

